Texas Governor Names Chair, Appoints three to Diabetes Council


Austin, TX Governor Greg Abbott appointed Ninfa Peña-Purcell, Ph.D. and Maryanne Strobel, and reappointed Letty Moreno-Brown to the Texas Diabetes Council, whose term expires February 1, 2027. In addition, Governor Abbott Feyi has appointed Obamehinti, Ed.D, to chair the council. The council addresses issues affecting people with diabetes in Texas and advises Texan lawmakers on laws necessary to establish a nationwide system of high quality educational services for all people with diabetes and health professionals who provide diabetes treatment and education offer, develop and maintain.

Nymph Peña-Purcell, Ph.D. of College Station is a public health research scientist at the Texas A&M University Center on Population Health and Aging. She is a member of several professional associations: member of the Texas Diabetes Council (TDC) subcommittee on results, board member of the National Commission on Health Education Certification (NCHEC), chairman of the Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE) board of trustees for professional development and continuing education, and a member of the Association of Diabetes Care and Education Specialists (ADCES). Peña-Purcell received a PhD in Philosophy in Health Studies from Texas Woman’s University and a Masters Degree from the University of Texas at El Paso.

Maryanne Strobel of Cypress is a Registered Nurse and Director of Diabetes Care at the Houston Methodist Willowbrook Hospital. She is the director of disaster risk reduction on the board of directors of the Texas Association of Diabetes Care and Education Specialists (ADCES), the Diabetes Disaster Workgroup / member of Cities Changing Diabetes Houston, and chair of the National Awards Committee for ADCES. Strobel is a member of the Steering Committee and co-chair of the Healthcare Provider Working Group for the Diabetes Disaster Response Coalition. Strobel received a Registered Nurse Diploma from Allentown Hospital School of Nursing, an Associates of Science in Gerontology from Lehigh County Community College, and a Master of Science in Nursing Education from the University of Phoenix.

Aida “Letty” Moreno-Brown of El Paso is a Nutritional Services Manager at Fresenius Medical Care and an Associate Professor at the University of Texas at El Paso and El Paso Community College. She is a member of the Council on Renal Nutrition, the Dietitians Advisory Board, and the El Paso Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Moreno-Brown received a BS in Family and Consumer Science from New Mexico State University and a MS in Advanced Nutrition from New York University at Oneonta.

Feyi Obamehinti, Ed.D.. of Keller is the director of Ravir LLC, an education and technology consultancy. She is a former educator and has volunteered to mentor the Dallas ISD and her local community center. She is currently a member of the Women Impacting Public Policy Education Foundation. She is a co-founder of Oasis Focus Inc., a nonprofit that provides communities with an oasis of hope. Obamehinti received a Bachelor of Science degree in microbiology from the University of Texas at Arlington, an MSc in curriculum and instruction from Peru State College, and a PhD in education from Texas A&M University.

These appointments must be confirmed by the Senate.